من نحن

"مصدر عام" هي مؤسّسة إعلامية مستقلّة مقرّها بيروت، متخصّصة بتغطية الأزمات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئيّة التي أصابت لبنان منذ بدء تطبيق السياسات الحكومية النيوليبرالية في التسعينات، وتركّز على تقديم قراءة سياسيّة للأحداث التي بدأت في لبنان منذ ٧ ١ تشرين الثاني ٢٠١٩.

نكتب عن القضايا المهمّة موادًا نقديّة وجذريّة آتية من منظار محليّ، لأننا نؤمن أن في ذلك خدمةً للمصلحة العامّة، ذلك إن كنا نكتب مواكبةً للّحظة، او بعد أن ينجلي غبارها.

المكب مقفل

ماذا نفعل

ولدت فكرة "مصدر عام" كمنصّة لصحافة متأنية ومعمّقة تعمل على المحاسبة. عند انطلاق شرارة الثورة، ارتأينا تعجيل موعد إطلاق المنصّة، بنشر رسائل من ثورة أكتوبر بهدف التعبير عن نبض المرحلة، وتقديم مشاهدات من داخل الصراع القائم على عدة جبهات ضدّ النظام السياسي الاقتصادي الحاكم. هذا القسم مفتوح للجميع، للعمال والعاملات والناشطين والناشطات، للمحرّضين والمحرّضات والطلاب والطالبات، للمثقّفين والمثقّفات والأكاديميين والأكاديميّات، للفنّانين والفنّانات والباحثين والباحثات، لمشاركة أفكارهم/ن وتجاربهم/ن الجماعية، بالإضافة الى تقديم التحليل الضروري لفهم هذه اللّحظة التاريخية الدقيقة. الرسائل التي ننشرها تكون عامّة نصوصاً مكتوبة، ولكننا ننشر أيضا أعمالا فوتوغرافية وتسجيلات صوتية وفيديو. 

سجلّات الأزمة ستكون سلسلة تحقيقاتنا القادمة والتي تتفحّص التأثيرات المادية للأنظمة والبنى المهيمنة في لبنان. وسيكون التركيز هنا على سبل الإثراء لقلّة من الأفراد على حساب إفقار الأغلبية، على انهيار البنية التحتيّة والخراب البيئي، وأيضا على إفلاس مؤسسات العناية الصحيّة والتعليمية العامّة، وخصخصة الشاطئ والأملاك العامة، بالإضافة إلى سياسات الهجرة واقتصادات المؤسسات الإنسانية والخيرية.

كوميكترن هي منصة للرسوم المصورة المشحونة سياسيّاً، المتخيّلة أو غير المتخيّلة (الواقعية أو التوثيقية). المنصّة مخصّصة للنضال بكل الوسائل المتاحة، من أجل حبّ الكوميكس بحدّ ذاتها ومن أجل خلق فضاء يمكن لفناني الكوميكس الصاعدين استخدامه. الكوميكس التي نريد نشرها يمكن أن تتضمّن قصصا شخصية أو تقارير صحفية أو رواياتٍ خيالية، لكن ترتبط جميعها بقضايا نقديّة وتجارب محليّة.

"مصدر عام" يدعم ثقافة التسريب ويدعو إليها، بمعنى نشر المعلومات السريّة خدمةً للمصلحة العامّة، ومن أجل كشف الفساد واستغلال السلطة والمساهمة في عملية المحاسبة والمساءلة. يوجد على منصّتنا قسم اسمه سرِّب (يا شعبي) مخصّص للتسريب، فيه قنوات للاتصال الآمن والسريّ حيث يمكن للأشخاص المهتمّين مساعدتنا على كشف ومشاركة المعلومات أو الوثائق التي يعتبرون أنه من حقّ الجمهور الاطّلاع عليها، ونحن نقوم بنشرها مع الحفاظ على خصوصية وسريّة المصادر.

الهيكلية

يعتمد "مصدر عام" على مبادئ الّلاهرمية، والتعاون الطوعي، والمساعَدة المتبادلة، ونعتبر هيكليتنا التنظيمية أساسيةً في التعبير عن رؤيتنا لنموذج إعلامي محلّي مستقلّ يعمل على المحاسبة.

الخط التحريري

نلتزم فقط باستقلاليتنا التحريريّة. إن "مصدر عام" هو على نقيض المشهد الإعلامي اللبناني التابع لأحزاب الطبقة السياسية الحاكمة والذي يروّج لأجنداتها السياسية ويرتبط بعلاقة زبائنية بها. نسعى بجهد لبناء علاقات مع المجتمعات التي نكتب عنها، كما نعمل بجد لكسب ثقة قرّائنا والمصادر التي تساعدنا. كما يهمّنا الحفاظ على مصداقيتنا، خاصة تجاه الناس الذين نكتب عنهم أو عن القضايا التي تؤثر في حياتهم. 

بسبب موقفنا هذا، يبتعد "مصدر عام" عن الصحافة التي تدّعي الحياد او الموضوعيّة، بل نهدف لكشف ديناميات القوة السائدة التي تنتفع مما يسمّى زوراً موضوعيّة، في حين أنها ليست سوى انحيازًا للأقوى.

 

فريق العمل

خوليا شقير بيثوسو، محرّرة مساهمة ومترجمة

كريم شهيب، صحافي استقصائي 

لارا بيطار، رئيسة التحرير 

ساسين كوزلي، محرّر اللغة العربية ومترجم

سينتيا عيسى، محرّرة اللغة الانجليزية 

يــزن الســعدي، كاتب كوميك

داعمينا ومموّلينا

انطلق موقع مصدر عام من خلال دعم مكتب مؤسسة روزا لوكسمبورغ في بيروت. تلقَّت منظّمتنا منحاً من صندوق دعم التحقيقات في شمال افريقيا وغرب آسيا، ومن المؤسسة الأوروبية من أجل الديموقراطية، وميديكو، ومن كلية الفنون والتصميم والاعلام في جامعة مدينة بيرمينغهام، تتراوح فترات التمويل من شهر الى سنة. كما يقدم حاضن المجتمع المدني التابع لمركز دعم لبنان الخدمات والدعم لموقع مصدر عام لمدة سنة. 

نشكر داعمينا ومموّلينا على إيمانهم بمهمّتنا ومساعدتهم لنا على تحقيق رؤيتنا.

بما أن معظم المنح المقدّمة لنا غير قابلة للتجديد، نحن الآن نطلب من قرّاءنا المساعدة في متابعة عملنا عن طريق التبرّع لنا مباشرة. المساهمات المستمرّة تسمح لنا بالمحافظة على استقلاليتنا التحريريّة، والإبقاء على موقعنا خالٍ من الاعلانات.

image/svg+xml

وسائل الإعلام المستقلّة في لبنان لا يمكن أن تستمرّ بدون دعم القراء. نعتمد عليكم لإنتاج صحافة مستقلّة ضرورية للمصلحة المشتركة، تبرعوا الآن!

About The Public Source

The Public Source is a Beirut-based independent media organization. It is dedicated to reporting on socioeconomic and environmental crises afflicting Lebanon since the onset of neoliberal governance in the 90s, and providing political commentary on events unfolding since  October 17. 

We write deeply and critically on vital issues from local perspectives — both in the moment and after the dust has settled — in the service of public interest

المكب مقفل

About Our Work

We conceived The Public Source as a platform for in-depth, long-form accountability journalism. With the spark of revolution, we precipitated our publishing date and launched the platform with Dispatches from the October Revolution to convey the spirit of the day and offer insider observations into the multi-front struggle against the governing political-economic order. This section is open to all workers, organizers, activists, and agitators, students and intellectuals, theorists and academics, artists and researchers to share ideas, collective experiences, and analyses at this critical historical moment. The Dispatches are mostly in written form, but we also experiment with photography, sound work, and video production.

Our upcoming investigative series Chronicles of the Crisis examines the material effects of hegemonic systems and structures in Lebanon. It focuses on processes of enrichment for the few and dispossession of the majority, infrastructural collapse and environmental devastation, de-funded healthcare and education, privatization of the coast and public domain, and politics and economies of humanitarianism and migration, among other issues.

Comictern is a platform for politically-charged fictional and non-fictional comics. It is dedicated to struggle by all available means, for the love of the comic medium and the creation of an accessible space for struggling comic creators. Our comics embrace personal anecdotes, journalistic reports, and fantastical tales, tethered by critical issues and local experiences.

The Public Source promotes and supports a culture of whistleblowing to expose abuses of power and to contribute to processes of accountability. On Sarreb (Ya Sha3bi), a whistleblowing platform hosting secure and anonymous communication channels, sources motivated to help us further this mission can share information and documents worthy of public exposure.

Our Structure

The Public Source is founded on principles of non-hierarchy, voluntary and temporary association, and mutual aid. Our organizational structure is core to our vision of setting a model for local and independent accountability journalism.

Our Editorial Line 

Loyal only to its editorial independence, The Public Source exists on the margins of the Lebanese mediascape dominated by the political agendas of ruling parties through relations of patronage. 

We strive to forge bonds with the communities whose struggles we report on, and work diligently to earn and maintain the trust of our story subjects, sources, and readers. Because of this positionality, we distance ourselves from a journalism that presents itself as neutral or balanced, and aim to disrupt power structures that benefit from the creed of objectivity.

Masthead

Julia Choucair Vizoso — Contributing editor & translator 

Kareem Chehayeb — Investigative journalist

Lara Bitar — Editor-in-chief

Saseen Kawzally — Arabic-language editor & translator 

Sintia Issa — English-language editor

Yazan Al-Saadi — Comics writer

Our Funders & Supporters

The Public Source was launched with the support of Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung's Beirut Office. Our organization is receiving grants from the MENA Investigative Fund, the European Endowment for Democracy, Medico, and Birmingham City University's Faculty of Arts, Design and Media for periods ranging between one month and one year. Lebanon Support's Civil Society Incubator is providing The Public Source informal support and services for one year. 

We thank our funders and supporters for believing in our mission and for helping us actualize our vision. 

Seeing that most of our grants are non-renewable, we are now asking our readers to help us continue our work by donating directly to us. Sustained contributions allow us to maintain our editorial independence and keep our platform ad-free.

image/svg+xml

Independent media in Lebanon cannot sustain itself without your support. We rely on readers like you to produce indispensable local journalism, please donate today!